First, understand that the laws in each state vary. However, most of them do require you to have at least two mirrors that provide a view behind you. This means you can legally drive your car as long as two of the three mirrors are still functional and whole. … This is especially true for the side view mirrors.
Does a car need both side mirrors?
Under the California Vehicle Code, every vehicle registered in the state (except for motorcycles) is required to have at least two rearview mirrors. One of these mirrors must be on the vehicle’s left-hand side (driver’s side).
How many mirrors should a vehicle have?
Every motor vehicle subject to registration in this state, except a motorcycle, shall be equipped with not less than two such mirrors, including one affixed to the left-hand side.
Are camera side mirrors legal?
NHTSA doesn’t specifically ban side-view cameras, but it requires every new car and truck sold in the United States to feature mirrors that show drivers what’s next to and behind them. Audi could legally offer its camera-based technology if it kept the mirrors, which would defeat their purpose.
How much does it cost to replace side mirror?
In general, the side mirror replacement cost is anywhere from $100 to $500. This includes parts and labor. If you are replacing the mirror on your own, it may be cheaper but if the job isn’t done correctly the first time, you may end up paying even more to have someone do it the right way.
Does AutoZone fix side mirrors?
AutoZone stocks the best mirror replacement glass for cars and trucks. … Side mirror replacement costs between $139 and $328 for parts and labor, while you can expect to pay between $35 and $90 for the part itself.
Can you drive without mirrors?
Most states do require at least two mirrors that allow you to see behind you. If that’s true for your state, you can legally drive the vehicle as long as two of your three mirrors are intact. While it may not be illegal, a police officer can still pull you over if they notice you have a broken or missing mirror.
What states require towing mirrors?
- Alabama. Rearview mirrors required on both sides.
- Alaska. Two mirrors are required on a towing vehicle: the left side mirror is required, and 1 mirror may be an interior mirror.
- Arizona. …
- Arkansas. …
- California. …
- Colorado. …
- Connecticut. …
What states is it illegal to hang things from rearview mirror?
The answer: Minnesota is one of a number of states with laws that prohibit drivers from hanging objects from their rearview mirrors on the grounds that the items could obstruct their view.